ELO Against Oil

Время публикации: 07.10.2011 21:19 | Последнее обновление: 08.10.2011 00:10

Sergei Karjakin, Dmitry Jakovenko and Alexander Motylev met in Poikovsky again

The 12th International Poikovsky Tournament in honor of Anatoly Karpov is hosting its participants. Some of the newcomers did not have time to even unpack their suitcases because they had to take part in casting lots. As a result the Czech GM Viktor Laznichka, owner of the bronze medal of the European Club Championship became the first in the list of participants.

Ten chess players representing seven different countries made 12th Poikovski Tournament really international. Actually, it got 19th category for the first time.  

The Ukrainian Zahar Efimenko, owner of the European Club Cup as a member of the St. Petersburg’s team is also in Poikovsky. However, the Russian GM Sergei Karjakin together with Dmitry Jakovenko and Fabio Caruana is top seeded in the event. This fall he set a goal of getting as many rating points in Poikovsky as it’s possible for Karjakin is willing to enter the group of rivals in Candidates Tournament. That was a reason for the young Grandmaster to refuse playing for the Russian Team in European Championship in November as long as Sergei wants to dedicate his time to the individual training. Karpov Tournament in this case is the one Karjakin is staking on.

All information about participants, standings and schedule is available on our special page. Stay updated with "informal" news and photos of the tournament by following us on Twitter.


Смотрите также...

  • Today is the arrival day of Poikovsky tournament dedicated to the twelfth world champion Anatoly Karpov and they are met by traditional north Russian weather, autumn rain. As we told before this time the participants of the round tournament consist of: Alexander Motylev, Sergei Rublevsky, Dmitry Jakovenko (all Russia), Ruslan Ponomariov (Ukraine), Alexander Onischuk (USA), Viorel Bologan (Moldova), Lazaro Bruzon (Cuba), Radoslaw Wojtaszek (Poland), Nigel Short (England) and Wang Yue (China).

  • The traditional tournament named after Anatoly Karpov will take place from September 27th to October 8th in Poikovsky. The strongest will be determined among ten GMs in a round-robin: Alexander Motylev, Sergei Rublevsky, Dmitry Jakovenko (all Russia), Ruslan Ponomariov (Ukraine), Alexander Onischuk (USA), Viorel Bologan (Moldova), Lazaro Bruzon (Cuba), Radoslaw Wojtaszek (Poland), Nigel Short (England) and Wang Yue (China). 

  • St. Petersburg’s team won European Club Championship

  • If you can find any advantages in being a chess player it should be an ability to manage your own “working” schedule. Usually players do not hurry to the “working place” at nine in the morning, but “usually” doesn’t obviously mean “always”.

  • The participants of the European Individual Chess Championship are arriving to the venue of the tournament - Legnica, Poland today. At the moment overall 297 participants are registered for the tournament. The strong composition of the championship is proved for instance by the fact that the chess expert and a frequent guest on Chess-News GM Alexey Dreev is only 35th with his rating in the list of participants, Belarusian GM Sergei Zhigalko is 29th.

  • The 13th tournament named after Anatoly Karpov held in Poikovsky is close to its end.

  • French bypassed his rival at the homestretch

  • The Open Blitz tournament with 204 participants finished in Hotel Cosmos, Moscow. Sergei Karjakin took first place with 15 points out of 18. Alexandr Grischuk is second with 14.5 points. Yu Yangyi and Ivan Popov gathered 13.5 each, but Chinese player took bronze on tie-break. 

  • As usually ten grandmasters will compete at Poikovsky competition scheduled to take place from May 11-20. Four grandmasters out of ten are Russian: Dmitry Jakovenko, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Alexander Morozevich and Alexander Motylev

    Other participants are Alexey Shirov, Viorel Bologan, Etienne Bacrot, Pawel Eljanov, Emil Sutovsky and Ivan Saric.

  • The following grandmasters will play in the 40th anniversary edition of the tournament in Dortmund scheduled for 13-22 July this year: Vladimir Kramnik (Russia), Fabiano Caruana (Italy), Sergey Karjakin (Russia), Ruslan Ponomariov (Ukraine), Peter Leko (Hungary), Arkadij Naiditsch (Germany), the winner of the Aeroflot Open Mateusz Bartel (Poland), Daniel Fridman, Georg Meier and Jan Gustafsson (all from Germany).